View photos here.

Marcel Hanzlik and Karen Trevino were inducted into the Arkansas Tourism Hall of Fame during a noon luncheon today during the 50th annual Arkansas Governor’s Conference on Tourism. The conference is being held in Jonesboro Feb. 25-27.

The Hall of Fame honor is presented annually to an individual or individuals who have been actively involved in tourism for many years and who have made substantial contributions to the betterment of the industry as a whole.

Marcel Hanzlik
Marcel Hanzlik had a distinguished career within Arkansas State Parks for nearly 40 years, retiring in June of 2020. In addition to his work with Arkansas State Parks, Hanzlik has dedicated himself to promoting Arkansas and the Delta region by volunteering for numerous organizations. For 32 years he has been a member of the Arkansas Delta Byways Tourism Association, which promotes tourism for 15 counties in eastern Arkansas. Hanzlik was the first president when the organization was formed in 1993. He took back the position in 2002, guiding the organization until he resigned in July 2023.  He is still an active board member to this day. 

Hanzlik received the Arkansas Delta Byways Lifetime Achievement Award earlier this year, the Arkansas Delta Byways Outstanding Member award in 2012 and was named the Arkansas Delta Byways Tourism Person of the Year in 2022. Under his leadership, Arkansas Delta Byways has received several awards at the Arkansas Governor’s Conference on Tourism, the latest being the Region of the Year award in 2022.

His proudest accomplishments include working to help pass Amendment 75, which established the 1/8th-Cent Conservation Sales Tax in 1996, and helping receive National Scenic Byways status for Crowley’s Ridge Parkway in 1998 and the Great River Road in 2002. 

Karen Trevino
Karen Trevino has been the president and CEO of the North Little Rock Convention & Visitors Bureau since July 2003. During that time, she also served a brief stint as the senior vice president and COO from July 2019 to December 2020. She has earned several travel industry certifications over the years: Certified Diversity Travel Professional, Certified Culinary Travel Professional, Certified Travel Industry Specialist and Certified Tourism Marketing Professional.

Arkansas Money & Politics magazine named Trevino among its Power Women in 2022 and 2023 and AY Magazine named her among its Intriguing Women in 2019. Awards received include the Silver Cup for Tourism from AHA, Tourism Person of the Year from the Arkansas Governor’s Conference on Tourism, State Management Award from Arkansas Business and Professional Women, Spirit of Skål award from Skål International Arkansas, Hospitality Hall of Fame from AHA, President’s Award from Central Arkansas Chapter of AHA, Shining Example Award-CVB of the Year from Southeast Tourism Society, J. Dan Baker Award from Seal International Arkansas, Silver Cup Award from Central Arkansas Chapter AHA and the Sustainer of the Year award from the Junior League of North Little Rock. 

Arkansas Tourism
Arkansas Tourism, a division of the Arkansas Department of Parks, Heritage and Tourism, strives to expand the economic impact of travel and tourism in the state and enhance the quality of life for all Arkansans. The division manages 14 Arkansas Welcome Centers and employs more than 60 staff members across The Natural State. For more information, visit

Arkansas Department of Parks, Heritage and Tourism
The Arkansas Department of Parks, Heritage and Tourism protects and promotes our state’s natural, cultural and historic assets, contributing to a thriving economy and high quality of life. It is made up of three divisions: Arkansas State Parks, Arkansas Heritage and Arkansas Tourism.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Subscribe to our newsletter!

Sign up to receive our latest news and special offers!

Your Name(Required)
This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.